Monday, September 07, 2015

Genna at 7 months

Sweet Genesis Grace. At 7 months old she

~weighs over 20 lbs. At her 6 mo doctor visit 3 weeks ago she weighed 19 lbs 2 oz (90th percentile) and was 26" long (50th percentile). For some geeky numbers, her percentile ranking in our family is 65th percentile for weight (she weighed more than 6 of her siblings at 6 months) and 15th percentile for height (she's only taller than Eden was at 6 months). ^^ For further comparison just among the girls, Eden was 21 lbs by 9 months, so she probably was similar in size to Genna. But Tirzah didn't break 20 lbs until 15 months and Mercy didn't pass 20 lbs until her 18-month appointment. So Genna is a chunk.

Ok, that was quite enough math before 8:30 am.

~is crawling. Sort of. She goes forward and backwards and spins. She doesn't cover ground rapidly, and doesn't always hit her original goal, but she is mobile!

{My friend Heidi sent us this awesome shirt!}

~can get into a sitting position (she LOVES this move)
~is very "grabby." She now gets everything her siblings leave within reach (especially choking hazards). They especially love it when she pulls their hair. ;) We are all learning new boundaries. 

~is still struggling to get her tongue moving the right direction to get food down the hatch: for every bite that goes in, about half usually comes back out, but this is an improvement over a month ago. She loves to eat, though. She gets distracted and doesn't eat a whole ton of food (up to 2-3 Tbs twice a day). She gets distracted while nursing too, so I honestly don't know how she is so fat!
~has loved every food we have given her except bananas. NONE of my other nine children ever ate the jarred meats. Genna chows down.

~is different from her siblings. Since we are on this topic: she is really trying to establish her own identity! She is the first child of my 10 to not poop every day, several times a day. I know you didn't need to know that. ;) I just wanted to say how different she is!

~wears 9-12 mo clothes and I am in a quandary. How fast is she going to grow and what is our weather going to be like this fall? Some of her 9 mo clothes are already too small, others are just great. It depends on the brand/style.

~can stay awake up to 6 hours at a time (I figured this is a more positive thing to say rather than talk about the lack of sleep...ha!). Ok, she naps 3 times a day. One nap is around an hour or so, one nap is usually 2 hours. Then she does this really weird 30-min nap every day at around 7-7:30 pm. It's so close to bedtime, but she doesn't ever stay asleep. She usually goes back down around 8:30/9:00. I hope she grows out of this nap soon.
~likes to party at 5 am. Sometimes earlier. She gets up multiple times a night still, but it's a good day when she isn't awake and ready for the day until after 6 am.

~learned to blow raspberries. It's particularly "fun" when I've just put a spoonful of food into her mouth. Oh well...maybe it's the whole figuring out how her tongue works thing?

~and (drum roll, please) I noticed her first tooth broke through just this morning!

Wednesday, September 02, 2015

Double Digits for Josh!

Josh was my baby when I started this blog. Now he's 10 years old. They say that blogging is a dying thing, and maybe it is. But I'm not giving up yet, even if I rarely find time to write...momentous occasions such as this one still grab my voice.

 Josh: entrepreneur, thinker, adventurer

 {Small gathering}

 {When I was little, I couldn't wait to be 10 so that I could hold up all my fingers when someone asked me how old I was. I don't actually remember ever doing it once I was finally 10. Funny that now all our fingers together doesn't cover my}

 {I will get the cake this way!}

 {Silly faces}

 {Mercy wants a front row seat}

 {I made the cake similar to how I made Micah's cake last year, with ice cream in the middle. I made it Sunday morning, then put it in the freezer until Monday evening. It was quite frozen by then!}

At 10 years old, Josh
~loves legos, minecraft, and hanging out with friends
~thinks he's 16 not 10, and wants all the privileges that come with it
~wears size 10 pants and 10-12 shirts
~wears size 6 shoes (last size in the children's section--men's shoes from here on out!)
~enjoys riding his bike or rollerblading
~favorite subject in school is spelling, least favorite is math
~is allergic to cats, horses, dust mites, and who knows what else--he takes allergy meds all the time and still occasionally has reactions and we can't always figure out what triggers it
~favorite foods are pizza, mac and cheese, and tacos
~favorite dessert is cookies
~thinks he will be a video game tester when he grows up (ha! I just popped that bubble when I told him that the market is much too competitive.)
~ok, wants to have a job at AirMaxx when he is bigger
~favorite colors are black and purple
~just read Trumpet of the Swan by EB White and loved it
~favorite thing to watch on tv is Ninjago
Me: "What do you like about your family?"
Josh: "They are fun mostly."